The Last Year: After.

I’ve tried writing this a million times but I’ve finally strung my thoughts together into somewhat comprehensible sentences.

Here’s Part III of The Last Year.

~

To properly process the past five years has taken a lot of time. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad I’ve left. It’s very happy and very exciting but at the same time, I feel like I’m now missing something. I haven’t seen some of my favourite people in almost a month which is strange considering we used to spend almost every single day together.

A lot has happened between my last day, prom and right now. I’ve already lost contact with people due to false promises of future friendship. But, at the same time, I’ve become closer with people I felt like I’d lost along the way. It’s a comforting but strange feeling knowing someone you thought you’d never talk to again wants to be your friend still/again.

I’ve changed so much in the past three months that I don’t even think I’d recognise myself, personality wise, if I I’ve become (even more) of a hard-edged bitch. I’m more willing than ever to throw a few punches (or really aggressively elbow/scream) at someone to defend myself or a friend. I’ve become more opinionated (If that’s even possible…) and educated (socially and politically) in three months than I ever thought possible. I now feel like I can shock adults into having genuine conversations (about things that matter in the real world) with me.

If you were to ask me what I’ve done since leaving school, my first answer would probably be ‘nothing much’. That would technically be a lie. I’ve been to Disneyland, I’ve been out a few times with friends and even family (for a change) but my go to answer is still ‘nothing much’. Why? Is it because I’ve spent a large amount of time in my room? Is it because if I feel nothing towards school anymore that automatically means I haven’t done anything?

Did those questions even make sense?

~

You probably thought this would be a long, nostalgic blog post like the ones before. You’re wrong. But I want to finish this last one by telling you two things:

  1. I am excited to start college.
  2. I’m not looking forward to Results Day.

so please stop asking me or I will either punch you, really aggressively elbow or just scream.

If you wanted the long, nostalgic blog post that you thought this was going to be, the previous two parts of this mini series are linked below.

~

The Last Year: I

The Last Year: II

The Last Year: III

Leave a Reply

